Why KP Stellar Astrology

The basic concepts of Astrology needs self study on your part and hence here we will assume that you are well equipped with the basics and proceed with this assumption. There being 12 Zodiac Signs and 12 Houses is an accepted and undisputed assumption all over the World.
In the Vedic context 27 Stars or Nakshatra's or Constellations are also being considered to be assigned in association with the 12 Signs and Houses. There are numerous methods of dividing 360 degrees into 12 parts or houses to which the 12 Signs  & 27 Stars are assigned. Each Star thus gets 13d-20m out of the 360 degrees. In any house or Sign a part of the Star spills over into the next house or Sign as per the calculations involved.
In simple terms each house is allocated 2-1/4 stars. Thus when a Planet is said to be placed in a house it shall be placed in one of the Stars as per its current location in degrees. This is still a part of the Vedic concept. The variable factor in Vedic concept was only the Planet visiting a House and moving into the 3 Stars allocated to the house. The House or Sign Lord and the 3 Star-Lords were fixed due to equal house concepts.
Deviations from Vedic concept
The deviation from Vedic concept begins when equal houses are not considered and instead the Placidus system of house division has been adopted where each cusp ie. the begining of a house has some unique measure in degrees - minutes unlike the Vedic concept where the cusp starts at 0 and ends at 30 degrees.
The Cusp of the House is considered to be a very important factor over the life time. The span of a house could be less than 30 degrees and hence the Sign associated with the Cusp will be limited to the span of the house and at times a sign may be completely missing or 2 houses may have the same signs. The House or the Cusp Lords will be as per the signs calculated by the Placidus system. This is one of the deviation from the Vedic concept.
A planet  while moving in a span of a house will travel through the allocated stars, since a sign is divided into 2-1/4 star each star, represents a major division in a sign. In the adjacent figure the point E implies the eastern horizon and Aries Sign is shown co-incident. The first star is of Ketu and is shown in grey color followed by Venus, Sun, Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn and Mercury which covers 4 signs and is repeated 3 times to cover 12 signs of the zodiac. Each star is thus repeated at 120 degrees.
We thus have a total of 27 divisions in 360 degrees each segment being 13d-20m. This is only a rough measure. Imagine that you have some length of a stick  which you would like to use as a measuring tool. You may sub-divide this stick by any means into finite sections, may be equal or unequal depending on your end use. The time when you decide to use this as a tool you discover that some objects are falling between the markings, you then realise the need to sub-divide to come to a finer measure.
This conclusion was also arrived at by the propounder of KP System and he sub-divided the span of each star into smaller portions called as a Sub-division or a Sub. This Sub when further divided into finer sections is called as a Sub-Sub which will be refered to as SSL, The next will be SS4 followed by SS5, SS6.
We are all aware that a measuring tool would also need some Units of measure then its sub-units followed by a sub-sub part of it. The unit of measure adopted by KP is the Vimshottari Mahadasha Paddhati again an accepted Vedic concept based on the 7 Planets and 2 Nodes, each planet being allocated a fixed number of years. The span of each Star is divided into 9 parts in accordance with Vimshottari Mahadasha Paddhati as the primary Sub  division, again he has sub-divided each primary Sub division or 1/9th part into 9 parts which are called as Sub-Sub. This is a very important contributing factor for the accuracy of predictions as the resolution or the least count has now increased.
A transiting planet is a variable, next is the Sign-Lord followed by Star-Lord. This transiting planet will now occupy one of the 9 Sub-parts in the Star, this sub-part is ruled by one of the 9 planets hence the term Sub-Lord was introduced followed by the Sub-Sub-Lord. The planet transiting a house is now a source of an event, Star-Lord, Sub-Lord, Sub-Sub-Lord and the Sign-Lord will decide the course of events indicated by the House.
This is only a preliminary explanation for one planet whereas there are other such 8 entities which will contribute and offer variations to the event as projected by the house. We have earlier discussed that the Placidus system of house division results in each cusp having some unique measure in degrees - minutes.
These 12 Cusp's are given the same consideration as given to the planets explained in the above paragraph. Thus each Cusp has a Star-Lord, Sub-Lord and the Cusp-Lord which is the Sign-Lord himself. These stay fixed throughout the lifetime in a Natal Chart. Refinement to Vedic Astrology as you must have now realised is due to the introduction of additional variables for the Cusps & Planets.
The nature / type of event for each house depends on the Lords of star, sub & sign on the cusp.
Planet is a source of event having a star, sub & sign lords. A sub-sub is considered at times to improve the precision.
The relationship between all the above variables and the additional parameters which are partly derived from the Vedic concept and partly from the Western concepts are called as the Rules of KP or Krishnamurti Paddhati itself.
KP has recommended the use of Ayanamsa which varies for each year. This Ayanamsa is closer to Chitrapaksh. Chitrapaksh or Lahiri Ayanamsa differs with KP Ayanamsa by 6M. The yearly rate of change assumed in KP is 50.2388475 Seconds.
Every planet in its Dasha, Bhukti and the house it occupies does not give results for occupied house but gives results according to the house where the Star-Lord is placed. Planet 'A' offers the result of the house occupied by the Lord of Star 'B', wherein this planet 'A' is deposited. Results being Good or Bad is decided by the Lord of Dasha and Bhukti being placed in the Sub portion of which Planet.
Rahu - Ketu ie Moons North Node ( MNN ) - South Node ( MSN ) the shadow planets are very important and they do not have a specific Sign assigned to them. The Signs associated with the Planets are not important as the Nakshatra Swami ( Star-Lord ) is more important. Any planet when it is placed in a Nakshatra has more power than the Lord of Nakshatra.
In a natal horoscope if any planet is Retrograde then it does no harm and is to be considered as in normal motion. In Prashna Kundali a retrograde planet gives results only in direct motion, retrograde planet is considered powerless.
KP assumes that no Planet is Good or Bad by itself. In KP all Western Style Aspects ( Graha -Yog ) are accepted along with all Indian Style Drishti-Yog.
Working Rules of KP System For each Planet consider in which Star it is placed. The Star-Lord of this planet own's a house or houses and will indicate the event matters of those houses owned by the Star-Lord.
The Planet will occupy a Sub portion, the Sub-Lord of the Planet also own's a house or houses. The nature of house decides if the event indicated by the Star-Lord is good or Bad. Planet considered to be a Benefic by Lordship offers the results signified by it, through the Planet deposited in its Stars. Planet is the source, star-lord shows the nature of results and Sub-Lord decides whether the event is favourable or not.
Learn KP Astrology
Call: Pandit Neeraj Sharma
Mobile:+91 9872121410